Posted by: orcaweb | March 10, 2015

Welcome to the new 2015 Wildlife Officers

Welcome back to the 2015 Wildlife Officer blog!

If you are travelling on a Brittany Ferries ship between the UK and Spain between March 25th and September 30th this year, be sure to look out for the Wildlife Officers on board, join them for a deck watch, listen to their fantastic wildlife presentations and find out how you can get involved with marine conservation.

Every Tuesday and Wednesday a new blog will be added, with exciting updates on the best whale, dolphin and porpoise sightings of the week and hopefully, some amazing photographs as well!

Here’s a little bit of info on the Cap Finistere team:

Team Leader Chantelle Barry, 23, from Portsmouth, Ship: Cap Finistére, Departing: 25th March

Cap Finistere Wildlife Officer Chantelle Barry

Cap Finistere Wildlife Officer Chantelle Barry

Chantelle said, “After having been a Wildlife Officer with ORCA in summer 2014, I jumped at the chance to be able to return to the Bay of Biscay yet again. Last summer provided me with the opportunity of adding seven new species to my tick list, including the graceful and powerful Orca.

The wealth of interesting and diverse people I met on board also make this placement so exciting and I hope the Wildlife Officers will inspire and inform many more people this year.”

Tiffany Rogerson, 27, from Southend on Sea, Ship: Cap Finistére, Departing: 25th March

Cap Finistere Wildlife Officer Tiffany Rogerson

Cap Finistere Wildlife Officer Tiffany Rogerson

Tiffany said, “I have always had a fascination with marine life and after seeing my first ever wild Bottlenose Dolphin, I became hooked on pursuing a career in marine conservation. I jumped at the chance to be a Wildlife Officer for ORCA, as I truly believe that inspiring and enabling people to understand and establish a connection with cetaceans is crucial for conservation. 

I am looking forward to seeing a huge diversity of cetaceans in their natural habitat, being wild and free! I am also excited to enthuse passengers by helping them spot cetaceans, whilst assisting with conservation efforts at the same time. I can’t wait  to get started and I hope to meet you on board!”

Clare Owen, 26, from Brighton, Ship: Cap Finistére, Departing: 1st April

Cap Finstere Wildlife Officer Clare Owen

Cap Finstere Wildlife Officer Clare Owen

Clare said, “I have always loved being by the sea, I grew up by the beach in Brighton where I explored and enjoyed the sea through rock pooling, diving and surfing. I have also gone on to study for a Marine Biology degree at Plymouth University in 2010.

I wanted to become a Wildlife Officer because of the unique opportunity to combine research with education and getting to meet lots of people. I am looking forward to running some fun children’s activities as well as getting the passengers up on deck and excited about looking for cetaceans.”

For more information on ORCA or to become a member, visit our website.  We look forward to welcoming you on board!

Leave a Reply

Categories

