Posted by: orcaweb | June 30, 2009

27th June 2009 BLOG UPDATE: Ooohhh, how I’ve waited for you!

Roscoff – Cork

I have worked on many different boats and seas – but my timing to see one species in particular has always been wrong. No, this time it is not a marine mammal. We are talking about a fish, but a huge one…the basking shark! I read Rachael’s earlier blog about 2 basking sharks seen outside Plymouth, and once again I was somewhere else.

Pont Aven was just approaching Cork Port, and I was up on helideck, as usual when we come close to land. Just outside the lovely place Cobh (hope the spelling is correct), there they were. It took me a few seconds to understand what I was looking at – two basking sharks feeding. Time to scream “shark” (!) and have all the people over on the right side…

 

Later up on the bridge, Julien explained that Pont Aven send in every sighting of basking sharks to www.asso-apecs.org Thank you Julien for the help with position, data etc and not least the French!

 

Julien Lemesre is helping me to fill out the ‘basking shark sighting form’ up on the bridge of Pont Aven

Julien Lemesre is helping me to fill out the ‘basking shark sighting form’ up on the bridge of Pont Aven

Wonderful to contribute directly to science. This is something we can all do i.e. if you have had a special sighting of marine life; there is always someone out there who would love to know about it. It can be a jungle to find that right person, but universities/organisations can usually lead you the right way. I promise you will learn something new on such a “journey”! Good Luck!

-Lena-

Leave a Reply

Categories

