Posted by: orcaweb | June 23, 2009

22nd June 2009 BLOG UPDATE: A “group of birds” = dolphins/humans??

When you are searching for whales and dolphins, bird “chaos” on the sea surface is usually a good sign. This is a link that hasn’t been seen so far during our crossings this season. Sea birds are definitely me weak spot in knowledge, since I’ve always put all my attention below the surface. Preparing for this season on Pont Aven I did read up on old sightings data – just to have an idea of what to expect…So far it’s been very few birds to spot though. I know what you are all thinking – “but you don’t have the experienced eye, Lena”. You are all right! That is why I rely on all the wonderful, experienced bird watchers that I usually find around the deck. During these meetings I try to work as a sponge (we say in Swedish) and “slurp up” all the knowledge. The result is this: there aren’t many birds out on our crossings. Even when we approach land, the numbers are few. I think this is the reason why the binoculars are being heavily used in some situations; this fishing boat probably got more attention than ever before (passing starving birdwatchers on Pont Aven). I was trying to get a glimpse of the catch – ones again “diving below” – I can’t seem to help it…

-Lena-

More birds than I've seen during 2,5 weeks!!! (Just coming in to the port in Santander)

More birds than I've seen during 2,5 weeks!!! (Just coming in to the port in Santander)

Leave a Reply

Categories

