Posted by: orcaweb | May 17, 2009

BLOG UPDATE: 16 May 2009: Getting to know you……

 Despite having completed one week onboard Brittany Ferries Pont Aven at the beginning of April with Lena, ORCA’s other Wildlife Officer on this route; these last two weeks have been the first when I have been onboard on my own and it’s been a real case of ‘Getting to Know You’!

 For the crew of the Pont Aven it has been a case of getting to know me and the activities ORCA plan to run and for me it’s been getting to know the crew, the ship and in particular the projector in the Main Bar!

 As well as this I have been getting to know passengers, hearing their amazing whale watching adventures around the world and even adding to those adventures with some exciting encounters with Fin Whales, Common and Striped Dolphins. Staying onboard for two weeks quite often means I meet people on the way down to Spain and on their return a few days or a week later, it’s like meeting old friends when a familiar face turns up at one of my talks.

I was delighted to photograph this beautiful mother and calf pair of Common Dolphins.

I was delighted to photograph this beautiful mother and calf pair of Common Dolphins.

 Finally I have been getting to know the Bay of Biscay and its wonderful wildlife!  Within the last two weeks we’ve seen lunge feeding Fin Whales, bow riding Common Dolphins and wake riding Striped Dolphins, leaping high out of the waves, secretive Harbour Porpoises, cool Cuvier’s Beaked Whales and a Northern Bottlenose Whale brightening an overcast and damp morning.

 But for me the most memorable sighting so far has been a Sperm Whale returning from the depths and remaining stationary at the surface as the ship steamed by, my first for the North Atlantic! I was bouncing around more than the grinning passengers that had shared the experience with me.

 Happy whale watching!

 Rachael

Leave a Reply

Categories

